Bates Prize 2019

The Bates Prize is awarded in odd years to commemorate Sir David Bates FRS and his pioneering studies of atomic and molecular processes and their role in atomospheric science, plasma physics and astronomy.

Dr James Millen from the Vienna Center for Quantum Science and Technology won the 2017 prize for his pioneering experimental and theoretical contributions to the field of quantum optomechanics.

The Bates Prize shall be awarded to an early career researcher for outstanding research, published within the previous five years on a topic relevant to the below groups:

Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control Group
Atomic and Molecular Interactions Group
Molecular Physics Group
Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group
Plasma Physics Group

An early career researcher is defined as an individual in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks), e.g. following the award of a first degree.

The prize is a cheque for £500, accompanied by a certificate and there is a plaque which the winner holds for two years. The winner is expected to also give the Bates Prize talk at the QuAMP conference which will be held at the University of Birmingham, from 2-5 September 2019

Key dates

Abstract submission deadline [Closed]: 

12th July 2019

Early registration deadline [Extended]:

30th July 2019

Registration deadline:

19th August 2019